SWTOR didn’t live up to the market demands of today’s MMORPG players

ImageElectronic Arts laid off employees on the Star Wars The Old Republic team. Game subscriptions dropped almost 25 percent, according to a article by Shack News.

Quick frankly, this isn’t a surprise.

I cancelled my own subscription yesterday and here’s why: there’s nothing to do. In order for a MMORPG game to work, players must be online. Waiting an hour and a half to enter a battleground without a complete group is not fun. It’s ridiculous. Two Sundays ago, my guild wanted to run the Eternity Vault. There weren’t enough people logged in the guild—let alone Fleet—to make this happen. I am not paying $15 a month to level up characters that I won’t be able to use when they hit 50.

Five years ago, the lack of content would have been okay, but not anymore. Look at the successful MMOs. Why do people stay or go back to World of Warcraft? It’s because there are more features. If I don’t want to raid or PVP, I can do other things like crafting (while possible in SWTOR, it takes a long time), earn some achievements or earn reputation. At no point did I expect SWTOR to have scads of features like WoW. I never wanted them to be just like WoWs.

People quit the game for various reasons. Excessive bugs, for one. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to reset a class quest, hoping that it wouldn’t ruin my quest line. I can’t tell you how many times I heard people say the high level raids glitched out. And while glitches happen in all games, there comes a point when it’s more frustrating the game is worth. I’ve had to send in my companions to distract glitched enemies to finish quests. Quests on Hoth and Tatooine that everyone completes.

SWTOR simply didn’t offer enough to keep players subscribed. Is it fun? Absolutely. Does it capture Star Wars? Yes, but it’s not worth $15 a month. I like the story and the characters. If it weren’t an MMO, then sure, I’d keep playing. Pay the base fee and that’s it.

At this point, the free-to-play option may be SWTOR’s only hope. People who didn’t want to subscribe to a game might pick it up. In addition, old players might come back. Realistically, I don’t see this ever happening—even if it saved the game.

There were far too many servers at the beginning. Of course, there would be queues at the beginning but that’s okay. Everyone wants to log on any chance he could. A month or two later it would die down, not only from people who quit for various reasons, but not everyone will be trying to be online all the time. Think about it. If you had to wait 15 minutes to log on, would you log off as quickly? Probably not. Participation increases, there aren’t hour-long queues, flashpoints and operations are feasible.

Server transfers are coming, so they say. Maybe it will help, but I don’t know if it is enough to bring people back. I don’t know if I would return.

While SWTOR is a fun game to play, it doesn’t live up to what the MMO market demands. It’s unfortunate that it turned out this way.

3 Comments

Filed under Star Wars The Old Republic, SWTOR

3 responses to “SWTOR didn’t live up to the market demands of today’s MMORPG players

  1. Pingback: SWTOR didn't live up to the market demands of today's MMORPG … | Game Review Guide

  2. Mike The Jedi Hermit

    Starting to think Star Wars doesn’t make a good MMO

Leave a Reply

